top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNick Ely-Myers

Week 2

Q: What has been the most challenging part of your internship? What is your supervisor's management style? What is something you have learned about your company, industry, etc?

 

A: So far the most challenging part of my internship has been stepping outside my comfort zone. I can be really outgoing, but I am also really reserved so one area of personal growth has been to talk to someone new and speak in front of a group of people. For example, the first couple of days was challenging because I was explaining my thoughts and experiences int he Willard Stewardship in front of the current Rivers and Revolutions cohort. I didn't know them very well, so I wasn't comfortable talking so freely yet. As the days went by it was much easier to articulate my thoughts spontaneously. Michael has a class coming up with many teachers attending, similar to the one we participated in last Wednesday, and I am a little nervous for it. I know I will grow from it and give my best effort so I am also excited.

Michaels management style is what you could call very casual. As my supervisor, he is very "chill" for lack of a better word. Our meetings always start with laughter and jokes. He really knows us well and can read us too. I know if I'm having a bad day, there's no point hiding it, because he will be able to tell. I really enjoy spending time with him because not only is he a supervisor, but he is one of my role models. Connecting to my goal to be better at speaking, I look up to Michael because he is so great at it. The way he speaks is so casual and light-hearted, but also is very profound. I hope to be able to speak like him, and with this internship, I am learning this skill.


I have learned that this internship requires lots of organization. I have so many different tasks and projects so it is really important to have my resources organized. For example, I spent a lot of time last week organizing my google drive (which was long overdue). Now I have noticed I can find things faster and I feel more put together when I know exactly where something is.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page